Fish & Bone Pet Store Welcomes Top Authors and MSPCA-Angell for Exclusive Book Signing

May 7, 2013

BOSTON, May 7, 2013 – The MSPCA-Angell announced today it will join  Ken Foster, author of “I’m a Good Dog: Pit Bulls, America’s Most Beautiful (and Misunderstood) Pet” and Traer Scott, photographer and author of “Newborn Puppies: Dogs in Their First Three Weeks,” at a book signing at The Fish & Bone pet supply store in Boston this Sunday, May 12 from 1:00p.m. to 3:00p.m. 

Fans of Ken Foster and Traer Scott are welcome to bring copies of their books for the authors to sign.  Copies of their latest books will also be available for purchase.  A portion of the proceeds from each sale will be donated to the MSPCA-Angell.

Foster’s latest book is a gorgeously illustrated and tenderly written tribute to one of the most misunderstood of canine companions.  Foster is also the author of the memoir, “The Dogs Who Found Me,” and the collection, “Dogs I Have Met.”  In 2008 he founded The Sula Foundation, which promotes responsible Pit Bull ownership in New Orleans.  Ken has a degree from Northeastern University’s Bouve School of Health Sciences.

Traer is a renowned photographer and author whose love of dogs shines through in intimate images of a range of breeds and types, from champion pups to shelter strays.  She has authored a number of other books as well, including “Wild Horses: Endangered Beauty” and “Shelter Dogs.”

Both books carry messages that relate to bills pending in the Massachusetts Legislature:  Senate Bill 969 would repeal the prohibition on breed-specific legislation; House Bill 1825 would ban the sale or transfer of puppies until they are at least 8 weeks old, to ensure they have important developmental time with their mother.

The Fish & Bone will host the event at their Newbury Street location.  Since expanding to Boston in 2010, The Fish & Bone has earned a loyal following for their commitment to the animal community and for a unique product mix of “urban pet essentials” that emphasizes both holistic health and great design.  Fish & Bone is the winner of the Best of Boston Home 2012, Boston’s AList Best Pet Boutique 2012, and The Improper Bostonian’s Boston’s Best Pet Boutique 2011.  The Fish & Bone is located at 217 Newbury Street in Boston. 


 

###

The MSPCA-Angell is a national and international leader in animal protection and veterinary medicine and provides direct hands-on care for thousands of animals each year. Founded in 1868, it is the second-oldest humane society in the United States. Services include animal protection and adoption, advocacy, humane education, law enforcement, and world-class veterinary care. The MSPCA-Angell is a private, non-profit organization. It does not receive any government funding nor is it funded or operated by any national humane organization. The MSPCA-Angell relies solely on the support and contributions from individuals who care about animals. Please visit www.mspca.org and like us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/mspcaangell